Skip to content
GATEiit

IIT Indore Admission Through GATE: M.Tech CSE, MS (Research) and PhD

How GATE DA and CS candidates get into IIT Indore: CSE M.Tech via COAP, MS (Research) and PhD routes, 2026 dates and official cut-off scores.

Updated 3 November 2026 · GATEiit Team · Not affiliated with IIT Indore

GATE admission routes at IIT Indore

Where IIT Indore is and who runs the CS and DA programmes

IIT Indore gives its address as Simrol, Khandwa Road, Indore 453552, Madhya Pradesh. Its PG admission cell is in Abhinandan Bhavan on the Simrol campus, and that campus is where new students report and where the CSE department holds its PhD selection.

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering was set up in July 2009 and runs the B.Tech, the M.Tech, the MS (Research) and the PhD in CSE. It is the unit that matters most for a GATE DA or GATE CS candidate. IIT Indore has no separate M.Tech titled data science or AI in the 2026-27 brochure. A DA score is still useful in three other M.Tech specialisations run by the Department of Electrical Engineering and the Department of Astronomy, Astrophysics and Space Engineering, covered below.

Which IIT Indore programmes accept GATE DA

The 2026-27 PG brochure and the institute's eligibility page name the GATE papers for every programme. These are the ones that list DA.

Programme (2026-27) Unit Admissible GATE papers
M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (2 years) Computer Science and Engineering DA, CS
M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (3 years) Computer Science and Engineering DA, CS
M.Tech in Communication and Signal Processing Electrical Engineering DA, CS, EC, IN, MA
M.Tech in VLSI Design and Nanoelectronics Electrical Engineering DA, CS, EC, EE, IN, PH
M.Tech in Space Engineering Astronomy, Astrophysics and Space Engineering DA, CS, AE, EC, EE, GE, IN, PH, MA, XE
MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering Computer Science and Engineering DA, CS
MS (Research) in Electrical Engineering Electrical Engineering DA, CS, EE, EC, IN

The paper is only half the rule. For the CSE M.Tech you also need a four-year bachelor's degree in CSE, IT, ECE, electronics or electrical engineering, or in one of 24 related branches the brochure lists in an annexure (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, Computer Science and Business Systems, Information Science and Engineering and others). "First division" means 60% or a CPI of 6.0 for UR, EWS and OBC-NCL candidates and 55% or 5.5 for SC, ST and PwD candidates. An M.Sc. route is not listed for the CSE M.Tech, though Space Engineering accepts some M.Sc. degrees. GATE scorecards from 2024, 2025 or 2026 were accepted in the 2026 cycle.

How the 2026 M.Tech cycle worked

IIT Indore admits GATE candidates under the Teaching Assistantship (TA) category. The category rules for 2026 set out the sequence: apply on the IIT Indore portal, register on COAP 2026, wait for the institute's shortlist, and accept the offer on COAP. No separate call letters were sent, and offers were made strictly in order of merit within the category you chose on the form. IIT graduates with a CPI of 8.0 or more could apply without GATE and were shortlisted on CPI.

Step 2026-27 cycle
Online application opened 27 March 2026
TA category closed 24 April 2026
Fee Rs. 800 (UR, OBC-NCL, EWS), Rs. 400 (SC, ST, PwD, female), per programme
Reporting and registration 24 July 2026 (tentative)

The brochure marks Space Engineering for selection by personal interview. It does not list a written test or interview for the CSE M.Tech, so for that programme your GATE score and the COAP rounds decide. Sponsored, defence and institute-staff applicants are exempt from GATE and do not use COAP.

The 3-year M.Tech in CSE is a separate advertisement under the Institute Teaching Assistantship (ITA) category. The 2026 notice took GATE DA or CS with the same degree rules, opened on 2 April, closed on 22 May 2026 and listed a tentative interview date of 15 June 2026.

The July 2026 spot round

After COAP Round 10, IIT Indore issued a spot round notice on 16 July 2026 for TA-category M.Tech seats. It was open to candidates shortlisted earlier who had no COAP offer, and to fresh applicants, but not to anyone who had accepted a COAP offer at IIT Indore or another IIT. As of 15 July, the CSE M.Tech had 3 vacant seats: 1 UR and 2 SC.

The notice printed a minimum qualifying GATE score for each programme, with "NA" where it did not apply:

M.Tech (spot round 2026) UR EWS OBC-NCL SC ST
Computer Science and Engineering 763 NA NA 320 NA
Communication and Signal Processing 574 NA 535 NA NA
VLSI Design and Nanoelectronics NA 664 NA 510 255

Applications closed at 23:59 on 20 July 2026, and selection was in person on 27 July at 10:00, the day before classes began. The notice said no travel or accommodation allowance would be paid. The fee was Rs. 300, or Rs. 150 for SC, ST, PwD and female candidates.

Official 2025 COAP cut-offs from IIT Indore

IIT Indore published a round-by-round GATE cut-off table for COAP 2025, giving the maximum and minimum GATE score of candidates offered seats in each round and category. The minimum scores for the two CSE programmes, exactly as printed:

CSE programme, COAP 2025 General EWS OBC-NCL SC ST
M.Tech, Round-01 minimum 806 767 752 678 643
M.Tech, Round-10 minimum 754 735 704 - -
MS (Research), Round-01 minimum 688 660 656 460 393

In this table a dash means the seat was filled or there was no sanctioned seat. The last MS (Research) CSE figure is a General minimum of 622 in Round-09. The table does not say which GATE paper each score came from, and both programmes admit DA and CS. These are GATE scores out of 1000 for one year, not a promise for 2027.

MS (Research) and PhD in Computer Science and Engineering

The 2026-27 brochure says MS (Research) selection is based on GATE performance and an interview of shortlisted applicants, and the MS eligibility page lists GATE DA or CS for CSE. The CSE department's MS page still mentions only a GATE score in CSE/IT and says applications are generally invited in March or April. Go by the institute brochure, and write to pc-mscse@iiti.ac.in if in doubt.

PhD admission runs on a separate portal, phdapply.iiti.ac.in, with each department posting its own advertisement on the engineering PhD page. The CSE advertisement of 7 October 2026 covers the spring semester of 2026-27.

  • A four-year B.Tech or B.S. in CSE, IT, electronics or electrical, or a master's in those fields or an M.Sc. in Mathematics, with GATE DA or CS qualifies for the TA category. Master's holders may use UGC-NET instead.
  • Applications closed on 26 October 2026, with referee letters due by 28 October.
  • The written test and interview were on 12 November 2026 in the CSE department, with 13 November kept for overflow interviews. Attendance was in person and no TA/DA was paid.
  • The fee was Rs. 100. Documents went as one PDF to admission-cse@iiti.ac.in.

Per the institute PhD rules, IIT B.Tech graduates with a CPI of 8.5 or more can apply without GATE.

Planning a 2027 application from the south

The M.Tech dates page already shows tentative 2027 dates: applications from 27 March 2027, TA closing on 21 April 2027 and reporting on 23 July 2027, with test and result dates to be announced. Treat these as provisional until the 2027 brochure appears.

  1. Decide between DA and CS early. Both open the CSE M.Tech and MS (Research), so choose on which syllabus suits you using how to prepare for GATE DA 2027 or how to prepare for GATE CSE 2027.
  2. Work through previous papers and practice tests, and keep exam dates from GATE 2027 in view.
  3. Apply separately, with a separate fee, for each programme you want, then register on COAP and respond in every round.
  4. Budget for one trip if you aim at MS (Research), the PhD or a spot round. The M.Tech CSE offer itself came through COAP in 2026.

Contacts from the 2026-27 brochure: pc-mtcse@iiti.ac.in for the CSE M.Tech and mtechadmission@iiti.ac.in for the PG admission cell. Other IITs that admit GATE DA candidates include IIT Bombay and IIT Hyderabad, and the full list is on institutes.

Official GATE cut-offs at IIT Indore

Numbers exactly as printed in official documents (2026, 2025). Past cut-offs guide you; they don't predict next year's.

YearProgrammeGATECategoryRoundCut-offSource
2026M.Tech in Communication and Signal ProcessingQualifying minimum GATE score cut-off for the 2026 spot round, as printed in the spot round notice; the notice does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits EC, IN, CS, DA, MA)OBC-NCLSpot round535IIT Indore, Spot Round Admission to M.Tech Programs AY 2026-27 (16 July 2026) ↗
2026M.Tech in Communication and Signal ProcessingQualifying minimum GATE score cut-off for the 2026 spot round, as printed in the spot round notice; the notice does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits EC, IN, CS, DA, MA)URSpot round574IIT Indore, Spot Round Admission to M.Tech Programs AY 2026-27 (16 July 2026) ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and EngineeringQualifying minimum GATE score cut-off for the 2026 spot round, as printed in the spot round notice; the notice does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)SCSpot round320IIT Indore, Spot Round Admission to M.Tech Programs AY 2026-27 (16 July 2026) ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and EngineeringQualifying minimum GATE score cut-off for the 2026 spot round, as printed in the spot round notice; the notice does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)URSpot round763IIT Indore, Spot Round Admission to M.Tech Programs AY 2026-27 (16 July 2026) ↗
2026M.Tech in VLSI Design and NanoelectronicsQualifying minimum GATE score cut-off for the 2026 spot round, as printed in the spot round notice; the notice does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits EC, EE, IN, CS, DA, PH)EWSSpot round664IIT Indore, Spot Round Admission to M.Tech Programs AY 2026-27 (16 July 2026) ↗
2026M.Tech in VLSI Design and NanoelectronicsQualifying minimum GATE score cut-off for the 2026 spot round, as printed in the spot round notice; the notice does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits EC, EE, IN, CS, DA, PH)SCSpot round510IIT Indore, Spot Round Admission to M.Tech Programs AY 2026-27 (16 July 2026) ↗
2026M.Tech in VLSI Design and NanoelectronicsQualifying minimum GATE score cut-off for the 2026 spot round, as printed in the spot round notice; the notice does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits EC, EE, IN, CS, DA, PH)STSpot round255IIT Indore, Spot Round Admission to M.Tech Programs AY 2026-27 (16 July 2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)EWSCOAP 2025 Round-10735IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)EWSCOAP 2025 Round-01767IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GeneralCOAP 2025 Round-01806IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GeneralCOAP 2025 Round-10754IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)OBC-NCLCOAP 2025 Round-01752IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)OBC-NCLCOAP 2025 Round-10704IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)SCCOAP 2025 Round-01678IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)STCOAP 2025 Round-01643IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)EWSCOAP 2025 Round-01660IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GeneralCOAP 2025 Round-09622IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GeneralCOAP 2025 Round-01688IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)OBC-NCLCOAP 2025 Round-01656IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)SCCOAP 2025 Round-01460IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗
2025MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering"Min of GATE Score" for the round, as printed in IIT Indore's COAP 2025 cut-off table; the table does not name the GATE paperNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)STCOAP 2025 Round-01393IIT Indore, GATE Cut-off for M.Tech./MS (Research) Programs 2025 (COAP 2025 rounds) ↗

Frequently asked questions

Can I get into IIT Indore's M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering with GATE DA?

Yes. The 2026-27 brochure lists GATE Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (DA) alongside CS for the CSE M.Tech, both the 2-year and the 3-year versions. You still need a qualifying four-year degree in CSE, IT, ECE, electronics, electrical or one of the related branches in the annexure.

Is there an interview for the IIT Indore CSE M.Tech?

The 2026-27 brochure does not list one for the 2-year CSE M.Tech, where offers came through COAP in merit order. The 3-year CSE M.Tech, MS (Research) and Space Engineering did use interviews of shortlisted candidates.

What GATE score did the CSE M.Tech need in 2025?

IIT Indore's COAP 2025 table prints a Round-01 minimum of 806 for General and a Round-10 minimum of 754 for General. The July 2026 spot round listed a qualifying minimum of 763 for UR. None of these is a forecast for 2027.

Does IIT Indore have an M.Tech in data science or AI?

Not in the 2026-27 brochure. A DA score opens the CSE M.Tech and three other specialisations: Communication and Signal Processing, VLSI Design and Nanoelectronics, and Space Engineering.

When does IIT Indore accept M.Tech applications?

In 2026 the portal opened on 27 March and the TA category closed on 24 April. The dates page currently shows tentative 2027 dates of 27 March to 21 April 2027.

Can I apply to more than one M.Tech at IIT Indore?

Yes, but each programme needs its own application and its own fee: Rs. 800 for UR, OBC-NCL and EWS, or Rs. 400 for SC, ST, PwD and female applicants in 2026.

Do I need GATE for a PhD in CSE at IIT Indore?

For the TA category with a B.Tech, yes: a valid GATE DA or CS qualification. Master's holders can use UGC-NET instead, and IIT B.Tech graduates with a CPI of 8.5 or more are exempt under the institute rules.

Will IIT Indore pay travel costs for the PhD test or spot round?

No. Both the October 2026 CSE PhD advertisement and the July 2026 spot round notice say no travel allowance is paid, and both selections were in person.

Sources

Checked on against these official pages. Admission rules and exam cities can change, so confirm on the official site before you act.