Skip to content
GATEiit

IIT Bhubaneswar Admission Through GATE: M.Tech AI, CSE, MS and PhD Routes

How GATE DA and CS candidates get into IIT Bhubaneswar: M.Tech AI and CSE via COAP, official 2025 and 2026 cut-offs, spot round, MS(R) and PhD.

Updated 3 November 2026 · GATEiit Team · Not affiliated with IIT Bhubaneswar

GATE admission routes at IIT Bhubaneswar

Where the campus is and which school runs the DA and CS programmes

The institute's how-to-reach page puts the permanent campus at Argul, near Jatani in Khordha district of Odisha, about 30 km from Bhubaneswar city, 35 km from Biju Pattanaik International Airport and 8 km from Khurda Road Junction railway station. Admission notices give the postal address as Argul, Khordha 752050.

IIT Bhubaneswar is organised into schools. The one that matters for a GATE DA or CS aspirant is the School of Electrical and Computer Sciences (SECS). Its Computer Science and Engineering department runs two of the M.Tech specialisations in the 2026-27 advertisement:

Specialisation Department Regular intake 2026-27
Artificial Intelligence Computer Science and Engineering (SECS) 22
Computer Science and Engineering Computer Science and Engineering (SECS) 22
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence School of Mechanical Sciences 14

The advertisement describes the AI programme as covering machine learning, deep learning, NLP, computer vision, big data analytics and the mathematical foundations of AI. The Computer Science and Engineering programme lists software engineering, advanced algorithms, theoretical computer science, cloud computing, and networks and cyber security among its areas.

If you plan to write GATE close to the campus, the tentative GATE 2027 city list places Bhubaneswar in the IIT Kharagpur zone. Our Bhubaneswar city page has more on that centre.

GATE DA or GATE CS: what each programme accepts

Eligibility at IIT Bhubaneswar depends on both your GATE paper and your bachelor's branch, and the two SECS programmes differ on the second point. The 2026-27 advertisement asks for 60% marks or 6.5 CGPA (with 5% relaxation for SC, ST and PwD) and lists:

Programme Bachelor's degree GATE papers
Artificial Intelligence B.Tech/B.E. in Computer Science and Engineering, IT, AI and Data Science, ECE or equivalent DA, CS
Computer Science and Engineering B.Tech/B.E. in Computer Science and Engineering or IT DA, CS
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence Mechanical, production, mechatronics, robotics, DA, CS, ECE and related branches ME, PI, DA
Metallurgical and Materials Engineering Metallurgy and a long list of allied branches MT and others, including DA

So a DA taker with an ECE or AI and Data Science degree can apply for Artificial Intelligence but not for Computer Science and Engineering, which is limited to CSE and IT graduates. IIT B.Tech graduates with a CGPA of 8.0 or above may apply without a GATE score.

Preparing now? Start from our GATE DA page and the 2027 DA preparation guide. CS takers can use the GATE CSE page.

How the 2026 M.Tech cycle worked

The advertisement asked every GATE-qualified applicant to register on COAP 2026 first and then fill the IIT Bhubaneswar form on the EIMS admission portal. Applications ran from 23 March to 20 April 2026. The fee was ₹300 for General and OBC candidates and ₹150 for SC, ST and PwD, and women paid nothing.

Regular seats carry no written test or interview. The advertisement says shortlisting is on GATE score, and a school may also look at your B.Tech and Class 12 record. Ties are broken by Class 12 aggregate, then Class 10 aggregate, then date of birth (the older candidate ranks higher). The institute then published selected and waitlisted lists per specialisation on the M.Tech admission page, and offers moved through COAP rounds.

Regular M.Tech students receive an assistantship for up to 24 months. For 2026-27 the first-semester total was ₹71,398 for GEN, EWS and OBC students and ₹66,398 for SC, ST and PwD, including hostel and mess advance; tuition is waived for SC, ST and PwD.

Beyond the regular intake, each discipline has 2 seats for DRDO-sponsored and 2 for other sponsored candidates. These are outside COAP and need three years of service, a written test (70%) and an interview (30%).

The July 2026 spot round

After the 10th COAP round IIT Bhubaneswar ran a spot round on 17 July 2026. Only candidates on the institute's waiting list who had not accepted and frozen a seat on COAP could take part. They had to report in person at the Academic Office between 9:00 AM and 1:00 PM with original documents, and pay the institute and hostel fees at registration. The selection list came out after 3:30 PM the same day.

The final vacancy chart of 16 July 2026 showed 10 seats open in Computer Science and Engineering, 8 in Artificial Intelligence and 2 in Robotics and Artificial Intelligence, spread across categories. If you are on the waiting list next year, plan for a trip to Argul at short notice, because the spot round is held on campus.

Official GATE cut-offs: last admitted candidate, 2025 and 2026

IIT Bhubaneswar publishes the GATE score of the last admitted candidate in each discipline after COAP and the spot round. These are institute PDFs, and they do not split the score by GATE paper. The rows below are copied as printed for the three programmes open to DA candidates.

2026-27 (PDF, COAP + spot round = final admitted)

Programme GEN OBC SC ST EWS
Artificial Intelligence 635 606 465 400 690
Computer Science and Engineering 665 617 447 377 623
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence 586 502 450 397 569

2025-26 (PDF, after spot round)

Programme General OBC (NCL) SC ST EWS
Artificial Intelligence 597 579 418 331 556
Computer Science and Engineering 622 597 381 436 595
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence 407 387 339 248 NA

In the 2026 table the EWS figure for Artificial Intelligence (690) is higher than the GEN figure, exactly as printed. PwD columns show NS (no seat), NA (none accepted) or NW (no waitlist) for these programmes, so they are left out. All figures are GATE scores out of 1000. The GEN figures for both SECS programmes were higher in 2026 than in 2025, so read an old number as a guide, not a promise.

MS (by Research) and PhD in Computer Science and Engineering

The MS (by Research) advertisement for Spring 2026-27 covers seven specialisations, including Computer Science and Engineering. It is a five-semester programme. For the Computer Science and Engineering specialisation the accepted GATE papers are CS and DA (or UGC-CSIR NET in Computer Science and Applications). The Electronics and Communication Engineering specialisation also lists CS. Applications opened on 12 October and close on 10 November 2026 through the EIMS portal. Category 1 (Institute Fellowship) needs a B.Tech/B.E. with 60% or 6.5 CGPA and GATE in an appropriate discipline, and the fellowship is at the M.Tech rate. CFTI B.Tech graduates with 8.0 CGPA can apply without GATE. Selection is by interview, plus a written test if the school wants one (40% test, 60% interview).

PhD admission runs round the year in four windows: 1 February to 30 April and 1 May to 31 July for the autumn session, 1 August to 31 October and 1 November to 31 January for the spring session. Windows 2 and 4 are optional for schools. The PhD advertisement lists CS and DA for Computer Science and Engineering. With only a B.Tech you need 70% or 7.5 CGPA plus GATE. It also describes PhD positions under the Artificial Intelligence and High Performance Computing Research Centre (AHRC), open to engineering graduates and to M.Sc holders in Mathematics, Biology, Genetics or Psychology who are GATE qualified in DA or CS. Selection uses the same interview and optional written test pattern.

Planning a 2027 application from the south

The 2027-28 notice is not out yet, so check the M.Tech admission page from March. Going by the 2026 cycle:

  • Register on COAP first: IIT Bhubaneswar's form follows COAP registration, and offers are accepted only there.
  • Check your branch as well as your paper: with an ECE or AI and Data Science degree, Artificial Intelligence is your SECS option, since Computer Science and Engineering takes CSE and IT graduates.
  • Keep the waiting list in view: in 2026 the spot round on campus filled 10 Computer Science and Engineering seats and 8 AI seats.
  • Research route: MS (by Research) has autumn and spring intakes, and the PhD portal stays open all year.

Practise with GATE previous year questions and topic tests. For other IIT pages on GATEiit, see the institutes list.

Official GATE cut-offs at IIT Bhubaneswar

Numbers exactly as printed in official documents (2026, 2025). Past cut-offs guide you; they don't predict next year's.

YearProgrammeGATECategoryRoundCut-offSource
2026Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)EWSAfter spot round690IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GENAfter spot round635IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)OBCAfter spot round606IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)SCAfter spot round465IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)STAfter spot round400IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)EWSAfter spot round623IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GENAfter spot round665IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)OBCAfter spot round617IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)SCAfter spot round447IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)STAfter spot round377IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)EWSAfter spot round569IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)GENAfter spot round586IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)OBCAfter spot round502IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)SCAfter spot round450IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2026Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate, COAP + SPOT round = Final Admitted, 2026-27, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)STAfter spot round397IIT Bhubaneswar, M.Tech Discipline wise Last admitted GATE cutoff (2026-27) ↗
2025Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)EWSAfter spot round556IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GeneralAfter spot round597IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)OBC (NCL)After spot round579IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)SCAfter spot round418IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)STAfter spot round331IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)EWSAfter spot round595IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)GeneralAfter spot round622IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)OBC (NCL)After spot round597IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)SCAfter spot round381IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Computer Science and EngineeringGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits DA and CS)STAfter spot round436IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)GeneralAfter spot round407IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)OBC (NCL)After spot round387IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)SCAfter spot round339IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗
2025Robotics and Artificial IntelligenceGATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), 2025-26, as printedNot stated (programme admits ME, PI and DA)STAfter spot round248IIT Bhubaneswar, GATE score of last admitted candidate (after spot round), M.Tech 2025-26 ↗

Frequently asked questions

Can I get into IIT Bhubaneswar's M.Tech in Artificial Intelligence with GATE DA?

Yes. The 2026-27 advertisement lists DA and CS for Artificial Intelligence, for B.Tech/B.E. graduates in CSE, IT, AI and Data Science, ECE or equivalent with 60% or 6.5 CGPA.

Does the M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering accept GATE DA?

Yes, DA and CS were both accepted in 2026-27. The bachelor's degree, though, had to be in Computer Science and Engineering or Information Technology.

Is there an interview or test for M.Tech at IIT Bhubaneswar?

Not for regular seats. Shortlisting is on GATE score, and a school may also use your B.Tech and Class 12 record. Only sponsored candidates take a written test and interview.

What GATE score did the last admitted candidate have in 2026?

For GEN, 635 in Artificial Intelligence and 665 in Computer Science and Engineering, per the institute's 2026-27 last-admitted cut-off PDF after COAP and the spot round.

When does IIT Bhubaneswar accept M.Tech applications?

In 2026 the EIMS portal was open from 23 March to 20 April. You must register on COAP before applying. Expect a similar window in 2027, but confirm on the official M.Tech admission page.

Is there a spot round, and who can attend?

Yes. In 2026 it was held on campus on 17 July after the 10th COAP round. Only waitlisted candidates who had not accepted and frozen a COAP seat were eligible.

Can I join MS (by Research) in Computer Science and Engineering with GATE DA?

Yes. The Spring 2026-27 MS (by Research) advertisement lists CS and DA for Computer Science and Engineering, with selection by interview and an optional written test. Applications close on 10 November 2026.

How far is the campus from Bhubaneswar?

The institute says the Argul campus is about 30 km from Bhubaneswar city, 35 km from the airport and 8 km from Khurda Road Junction railway station.

Sources

Checked on against these official pages. Admission rules and exam cities can change, so confirm on the official site before you act.