Skip to content
GATEiit

IIT Delhi Admission Through GATE: M.Tech CSE, MINDS, MS and PhD

How GATE DA and CS takers get into IIT Delhi: CSE M.Tech, MINDS at the School of AI, EE's EET, MS(R) and PhD, with official 2026 cut-offs.

Updated 3 November 2026 · GATEiit Team · Not affiliated with IIT Delhi

GATE admission routes at IIT Delhi

  • M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (MCS)

    M.TechIIT Delhi PG portal, offers on COAPGATE CSE

    In the 2026 cycle, full-time admission was based on the CS GATE score with no interview or test; IIT B.Tech graduates with CGPA 8.0 or more were interviewed online and CFTI graduates with CGPA 8.0 or more took an in-person test and interview instead of GATE.

    Source: IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech Admissions, Summer 2026 ↗
  • M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (MINDS, AIB)

    M.TechIIT Delhi PG portal, written test at Yardi ScAI, offers on COAP

    The 2026-27 ScAI criteria accept a valid GATE score in any paper (listed as 'All'), so no paper code is named. Shortlisted candidates took an in-person written test on 10 May 2026; offers in GATE mode weighed GATE score and test 70:30.

    Source: Yardi School of Artificial Intelligence, IIT Delhi: M.Tech (MINDS) ↗
  • M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)

    M.TechIIT Delhi PG portal, direct admission on GATE score via COAPGATE CSEGATE DAGATE EC

    For 2026-27, the Electrical Engineering department used the GATE score for direct admission via COAP for full-time applicants with GATE CS, DA or EC; interviews were only for sponsored, part-time and GATE-waiver candidates.

    Source: IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
  • M.Tech in Integrated Electronics and Circuits (EEN)

    M.TechIIT Delhi PG portal, direct admission on GATE score via COAPGATE CSEGATE DAGATE ECGATE EEGATE INGATE PH

    The 2026-27 brochure and EE criteria list GATE EC, EE, IN, PH, CS and DA as qualifying papers, with the GATE score used for direct admission via COAP for full-time applicants.

    Source: IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
  • M.Tech (High-Value Assistantship) in Computer Science and Engineering

    M.TechIIT Delhi PG portal, in-person written test and interviewGATE CSE

    In 2026, shortlisted HVA candidates took an in-person written test at IIT Delhi on 13 May and interviews from 14 May; the three-year programme pays ₹22,000 a month for 20 hours a week of lab support.

    Source: IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech Admissions, Summer 2026 ↗
  • M.Tech in Robotics (JRB)

    M.TechIIT Delhi PG portal, offers on COAPGATE CSEGATE EEGATE ECGATE INGATE AEGATE MEGATE PIGATE DAGATE XE

    The 2026-27 brochure (Annexure III) asks for a four-year B.Tech/BE in engineering and lists these qualifying GATE papers; XE is considered only with listed qualifying degrees.

    Source: IIT Delhi Information Brochure for PG admissions, Semester I 2026-27 ↗
  • MS (Research) in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIY)

    MSIIT Delhi PG portal, ScAI written test and interview

    The 2026-27 ScAI criteria list GATE in all disciplines as 'Qualifying only', so no paper code is named. Selection is a written test then an interview; the Winter 2026 test was set for 29 November 2026.

    Source: Yardi ScAI MS(R) admissions ↗
  • MS (Research) in Computer Science and Engineering (CSY)

    MSIIT Delhi PG portal, CSE written test and interview

    The 2026-27 brochure asks for a STEM degree of at least 4 years and GATE, CSIR/UGC NET, DST INSPIRE or JEST in any discipline, so no paper code is named. In May 2026 the written test was held at IIT Delhi on 13 May with the M.Tech test.

    Source: IIT Delhi Information Brochure for PG admissions, Semester I 2026-27 ↗
  • PhD in Computer Science and Engineering and PhD at the Yardi School of Artificial Intelligence

    PhDIIT Delhi PG portal, departmental written test and interview

    Ph.D. admissions are advertised in March and October with tests and interviews in May and December; ScAI's 2026-27 criteria accept GATE in all disciplines as qualifying for B.Tech applicants, and its Winter 2026 written test was set for 29 November 2026.

    Source: Yardi ScAI PhD admissions ↗

IIT Delhi's campus and the units that take DA and CS

The 2026-27 brochure places IIT Delhi at Hauz Khas in South Delhi, on a 320-acre residential campus with two Delhi Metro stations at its gates. It is about 22 km from Terminal 3 of the airport, useful to know if you fly up from the south for a test.

Three academic units matter for a DA or CS aspirant.

  • The Department of Computer Science and Engineering runs the M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (code MCS), a three-year M.Tech (High-Value Assistantship), MS (Research) and PhD.
  • The Yardi School of Artificial Intelligence (ScAI) runs the M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science, called MINDS (code AIB), started in July 2022, plus MS (Research) and PhD.
  • The Department of Electrical Engineering runs the M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET) and Integrated Electronics and Circuits (EEN), which both list GATE DA and CS.

The CSE M.Tech takes GATE CS alone. A GATE DA score opens MINDS, EET, EEN or the M.Tech in Robotics, but not MCS.

The 2026 application: institute portal first, COAP for the offer

IIT Delhi publishes one information brochure for Ph.D., M.Tech., M.S.(R), M.Des., MPP, M.A. and M.Sc. admissions. For the July 2026 intake it gave these dates.

Step 2026 cycle
Online application opens 21 March 2026 (12:00 noon)
Last date 11 April 2026, 4:00 pm (extended to 12 April 2026, 5:00 pm)
Written tests and interviews 13 May to 15 June 2026
Orientation 18 July 2026
Classes begin 23 July 2026

The application fee was ₹200 per form for General, OBC and EWS candidates and ₹50 for SC, ST and PwD candidates. You fill a separate form for each M.Tech programme, so applying to MCS and MINDS means two forms and two fees.

GATE-qualified candidates for full-time M.Tech must register on COAP before applying and enter the COAP registration number in the form. Offers are made and accepted on COAP.

Full-time, non-sponsored M.Tech and MS(R) students who qualified GATE are considered for a Teaching Assistantship of ₹12,400 a month for up to four semesters, against 8 hours a week of work. The three-year HVA M.Tech pays ₹22,000 a month for 20 hours a week of laboratory support.

Which GATE paper fits which programme

Annexure III of the brochure and the 2026 shortlisting sheets set the qualifying papers.

Programme (code) Academic unit GATE papers accepted, 2026
Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB) Yardi ScAI Any paper ("All" in the 2026 criteria)
Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET) Electrical Engineering CS, DA, EC
Integrated Electronics and Circuits (EEN) Electrical Engineering CS, DA, EC, EE, IN, PH
Robotics (JRB) Interdisciplinary CS, EE, EC, IN, AE, ME, PI, DA, XE (XE only with listed degrees)
Computer Science and Engineering (MCS) CSE CS only

Degree rules differ too. MCS accepts a B.Tech/BE in any discipline, a 4-year BS/BSc in CS, Mathematics, Statistics, Data Science or AI, or an MCA. MINDS asks for a first-class 4-year B.Tech/BE or equivalent in any engineering or science discipline. EET lists computer, electrical, electronics, IT and instrumentation degrees and an M.Sc. in Electronics.

So a mechanical graduate with a good GATE CSE score is eligible for MCS, and a DA taker from any engineering branch can apply to MINDS.

How selection works for each programme

The selection method is what you should plan around, because it decides whether you travel to Delhi at all.

MCS (CSE): The department's Summer 2026 admissions page says admission to the full-time M.Tech is based on the CS GATE score, with no interview or test. The exceptions are IIT B.Tech graduates with CGPA of 8.0 or more (exempt from GATE, selected by an online interview in 2026) and CFTI graduates with CGPA of 8.0 or more (exempt from GATE, selected by an in-person written test and interview).

HVA, CFTI and part-time candidates took an in-person written test at IIT Delhi on 13 May 2026, with objective and on-paper programming sections, then in-person interviews from 14 May. The department said it could not arrange hostel accommodation.

MINDS (ScAI): The school shortlists on its own criteria, then holds an in-person written test with four sections: general aptitude, maths and statistics, data structures and algorithms with programming, and machine learning. In 2026 the test was on 10 May at a few centres around the country. Final offers in GATE mode weigh the GATE score and the written test 70:30.

EET and EEN (Electrical Engineering): The 2026 EE criteria sheet states that the GATE score is used for direct admission via COAP for full-time applicants. Interviews are only for sponsored and part-time candidates and for the IIT/CFTI GATE waiver route.

For every route, the brochure warns that meeting a GATE cut-off does not guarantee admission. Offers depend on seats and the merit list.

Official GATE cut-offs: 2026-27 shortlisting and 2025-26 admissions

IIT Delhi publishes cut-offs in two places. The academic units issue shortlisting criteria for the current year, and the brochure's Annexure IV prints the GATE score cut-offs used in the previous academic year, "only for reference". All figures are GATE scores out of 1000, copied as printed.

Shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27

Programme GATE paper UR/GEN EWS OBC SC ST PwD
CSE M.Tech (full-time) CS 780 780 702 530 530 530
CSE M.Tech (HVA) CS 700 700 630 500 500 500
MINDS (ScAI) All 720 680 640 470 300 200
EET (EE) CS/DA/EC 475 475 430 390 390 380

Sources: CSE shortlisting PDF, ScAI shortlisting PDF, EE shortlisting PDF.

Annexure IV: GATE score cut-offs for AY 2025-2026

Programme GATE paper GEN EWS OBC SC ST PH
Computer Sc. & Engg. (MCS) CS 800 815 718 589 556 784
Computing & Intelligent Systems Engg. (EET) CS/DA/EC 760 761 718 552 440 -
Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB) (not stated) 720 680 640 470 300 200

Read the two together. EET's 2026 shortlisting floor was 475, but its 2025-26 cut-off was 760, so the floor says little about the score you need.

MS (Research) and PhD in CSE and AI

Research admissions run twice a year. The brochure says Ph.D. programmes are advertised in March and October, with tests and interviews in May and December.

CSE: The MS (Research) in CSE (code CSY) accepts a STEM bachelor's and/or master's of at least 4 years in total, with GATE, CSIR or UGC NET (lecturership/JRF), DST INSPIRE or JEST in any discipline. In May 2026 the PhD and MS(R) written test was held with the M.Tech test at IIT Delhi on 13 May, followed by in-person interviews.

Yardi ScAI: MS(R) and PhD admissions have three stages: shortlisting, an in-person written test on the same four sections as MINDS, and an interview. Final offers depend on the interview alone. The 2026-27 ScAI criteria list GATE in all disciplines as "Qualifying only" for full-time MS(R). For the Winter 2026 cycle the school announced the written test for 29 November 2026 (1 pm to 4 pm) and interviews on 30 November.

The brochure's Institute assistantship for full-time Ph.D. students is ₹37,000 a month for the first two years and ₹42,000 for the next three.

Students from CFTIs with a CGPA of 8.00 or more at the end of the sixth semester or later can apply for MS(R) without GATE, provided they graduate with 8.00 or more.

Contacts and a plan for the 2027 cycle

The brochure lists the CSE department at hodcse@admin.iitd.ac.in (phone 26591291) and the Yardi School of Artificial Intelligence at office@scai.iitd.ac.in (phone 26548728). The CSE M.Tech coordinator takes shortlisting queries at icmtech@cse.iitd.ac.in. Applications go through the PG admissions page.

A sensible order for a 2027 applicant:

  1. Pick your paper with the table above in mind. CS keeps MCS, EET and MINDS open. DA keeps MINDS, EET, EEN and Robotics open, not MCS.
  2. Build towards a score well above the shortlisting floor, using how to prepare for GATE DA 2027 or how to prepare for GATE CSE 2027, previous year questions and practice sets.
  3. Register on COAP when it opens, then fill one IIT Delhi form per programme in the March to April window.
  4. If MINDS is on your list, keep the May test date free.

Dates and cut-offs above are from the 2026 cycle; check the 2027 brochure when it is released. See all institutes, including IIT Bombay.

Official GATE cut-offs at IIT Delhi

Numbers exactly as printed in official documents (2026, 2025). Past cut-offs guide you; they don't predict next year's.

YearProgrammeGATECategoryRoundCut-offSource
2026M.Tech (HVA) in Computer Science and EngineeringShortlisting criteria for M.Tech (HVA), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEEWS–700IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech (HVA) in Computer Science and EngineeringShortlisting criteria for M.Tech (HVA), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEOBC–630IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech (HVA) in Computer Science and EngineeringShortlisting criteria for M.Tech (HVA), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEPwD–500IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech (HVA) in Computer Science and EngineeringShortlisting criteria for M.Tech (HVA), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSESC–500IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech (HVA) in Computer Science and EngineeringShortlisting criteria for M.Tech (HVA), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEST–500IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech (HVA) in Computer Science and EngineeringShortlisting criteria for M.Tech (HVA), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEUR–700IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (full-time)Shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEEWS–780IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (full-time)Shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEOBC–702IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (full-time)Shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEPwD–530IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (full-time)Shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSESC–530IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (full-time)Shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEST–530IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (full-time)Shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27, GATE score as printedCSEUR–780IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)EE shortlisting criteria for full-time applicants, 1st Sem 2026-2027, printed as 475 (CS/DA/EC) etc.CS/DA/ECGEN–475IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)EE shortlisting criteria for full-time applicants, 1st Sem 2026-2027, printed as 475 (CS/DA/EC) etc.CS/DA/ECGEN-EWS–475IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)EE shortlisting criteria for full-time applicants, 1st Sem 2026-2027, printed as 475 (CS/DA/EC) etc.CS/DA/ECOBC–430IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)EE shortlisting criteria for full-time applicants, 1st Sem 2026-2027, printed as 475 (CS/DA/EC) etc.CS/DA/ECPWD–380IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)EE shortlisting criteria for full-time applicants, 1st Sem 2026-2027, printed as 475 (CS/DA/EC) etc.CS/DA/ECSC–390IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
2026M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)EE shortlisting criteria for full-time applicants, 1st Sem 2026-2027, printed as 475 (CS/DA/EC) etc.CS/DA/ECST–390IIT Delhi Electrical Engineering M.Tech shortlisting criteria, 1st Sem 2026-2027 ↗
2026M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (MINDS)Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27; GATE discipline printed as 'All'AllEWS–680Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (MINDS)Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27; GATE discipline printed as 'All'AllOBC–640Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (MINDS)Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27; GATE discipline printed as 'All'AllPwD–200Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (MINDS)Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27; GATE discipline printed as 'All'AllSC–470Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (MINDS)Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27; GATE discipline printed as 'All'AllST–300Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2026M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (MINDS)Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria for M.Tech (Full-Time), 1st Semester 2026-27; GATE discipline printed as 'All'AllUR–720Yardi ScAI shortlisting criteria, 1st Semester 2026-27 ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (MCS)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off for admission to non-sponsored full-time M.Tech, AY 2025-2026 (reference only)CSEEWS–815IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (MCS)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off for admission to non-sponsored full-time M.Tech, AY 2025-2026 (reference only)CSEGEN–800IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (MCS)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off for admission to non-sponsored full-time M.Tech, AY 2025-2026 (reference only)CSEOBC–718IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (MCS)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off for admission to non-sponsored full-time M.Tech, AY 2025-2026 (reference only)CSEPH–784IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (MCS)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off for admission to non-sponsored full-time M.Tech, AY 2025-2026 (reference only)CSESC–589IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (MCS)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off for admission to non-sponsored full-time M.Tech, AY 2025-2026 (reference only)CSEST–556IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); PH printed as '-'CS/DA/ECEWS–761IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); PH printed as '-'CS/DA/ECGEN–760IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); PH printed as '-'CS/DA/ECOBC–718IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); PH printed as '-'CS/DA/ECSC–552IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering (EET)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); PH printed as '-'CS/DA/ECST–440IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); GATE paper column blankNot statedEWS–680IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); GATE paper column blankNot statedGEN–720IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); GATE paper column blankNot statedOBC–640IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); GATE paper column blankNot statedPH–200IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); GATE paper column blankNot statedSC–470IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗
2025M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (AIB)Annexure IV, GATE score cut-off, AY 2025-2026 (reference only); GATE paper column blankNot statedST–300IIT Delhi PG brochure 2026-27, Annexure IV (GATE cut-offs for AY 2025-2026) ↗

Frequently asked questions

Can I get into the IIT Delhi M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering with GATE DA?

Not on the 2026 rules. The CSE department listed CS as the only qualifying GATE discipline for its M.Tech. With DA you can apply to the M.Tech in Machine Intelligence and Data Science (any GATE paper), Computing and Intelligent Systems Engineering, Integrated Electronics and Circuits, or Robotics.

Is there an interview for the IIT Delhi CSE M.Tech?

Not for regular GATE applicants in 2026. The department admitted full-time candidates on the CS GATE score alone. Interviews or a written test applied to IIT and CFTI graduates using the GATE waiver, the HVA programme and part-time candidates.

What GATE score did IIT Delhi use to shortlist for the CSE M.Tech in 2026?

The approved 2026-27 shortlisting criteria printed 780 for UR and EWS, 702 for OBC, and 530 for SC, ST and PwD, all GATE CS scores. The brochure's reference table for AY 2025-26 printed 800 for GEN.

Does the MINDS M.Tech at the Yardi School of AI have a written test?

Yes. Shortlisted candidates took an in-person written test (on 10 May in 2026) covering aptitude, maths and statistics, data structures and programming, and machine learning. Offers weighed the GATE score 70 and the test 30.

Do I have to travel to Delhi for the selection process?

It depends on the programme. The CSE M.Tech and the EE programmes admitted regular GATE candidates without a test in 2026. The CSE written test for HVA and CFTI candidates was held in person at IIT Delhi, and the MINDS test was held at a few centres around the country.

Can I apply to several IIT Delhi M.Tech programmes in one year?

Yes, but the brochure requires a separate application form for each M.Tech programme. The fee in 2026 was ₹200 per form for General, OBC and EWS candidates and ₹50 for SC, ST and PwD.

What stipend does an IIT Delhi M.Tech student get?

Full-time, non-sponsored M.Tech students who qualified GATE are considered for a Teaching Assistantship of ₹12,400 a month for up to four semesters, against 8 hours a week of work. The three-year HVA M.Tech pays ₹22,000 a month.

Sources

Checked on against these official pages. Admission rules and exam cities can change, so confirm on the official site before you act.