IIT Roorkee Admission Through GATE: Data Science, AI, CSE M.Tech and PhD
GATE DA and CS routes into IIT Roorkee: M.Tech in Data Science, AI, CSE and Applied Maths via COAP, normalised-marks merit, PhD rules and 2026 dates.
Updated 3 November 2026 · GATEiit Team · Not affiliated with IIT Roorkee
GATE admission routes at IIT Roorkee
M.Tech in Data Science (Mehta Family School of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence)
M.TechCOAPGATE DAGATE CSEGATE ECGATE EEGATE MAGATE CEGATE MEGATE STGATE AEGATE BMGATE BTGATE CHGATE MTGATE GEGATE INGATE PHGATE PISource: IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure PG Programme M.Tech./M.Arch./MURP 2026-27 ↗In the 2026 cycle, candidates applied on IIT Roorkee's portal and were ranked on normalised GATE marks; DA, CS, EC, EE, MA, CE, ME and ST were main papers and the rest had a separate seat block. Offers came through COAP 2026.
M.Tech in Artificial Intelligence (Mehta Family School of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence)
M.TechCOAPGATE DAGATE CSEGATE ECGATE EEGATE MAGATE CEGATE INGATE MEGATE PHGATE STGATE GESource: IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure PG Programme M.Tech./M.Arch./MURP 2026-27 ↗In the 2026 cycle, CS, EC and EE were main papers and DA was among the other papers with a smaller seat block; merit on normalised GATE marks, offers through COAP 2026.
M.Tech in Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing (Saharanpur Campus)
M.TechCOAPGATE DAGATE MAGATE STGATE CSEGATE EEGATE ECGATE XESource: IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure PG Programme M.Tech./M.Arch./MURP 2026-27 ↗In the 2026 cycle, open to the listed GATE papers with a B.E./B.Tech in CS, EE, ECE, DS or AI or an M.Sc in mathematics, statistics, OR, DS or AI; merit on normalised GATE marks, offers through COAP 2026.
M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering
M.TechCOAPGATE CSESource: IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure PG Programme M.Tech./M.Arch./MURP 2026-27 ↗In the 2026 cycle, only GATE CS was listed, with a B.E./B.Tech in CSE, Data Science and AI, or Mathematics and Computing or equivalent; merit on normalised GATE marks, offers through COAP 2026.
M.Tech (any programme) for IIT graduates
M.TechDirect offer by IIT RoorkeeSource: IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure PG Programme M.Tech./M.Arch./MURP 2026-27 ↗No GATE paper applies. In the 2026 cycle, IIT graduates with CGPA of at least 8.00 were offered direct admission on supernumerary seats.
PhD in Computer Science and Engineering
PhDIIT Roorkee PhD application portal (written test and/or interview)Source: IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure Ph.D. Programme, Spring Semester 2026-27 ↗The brochure names GATE as a qualifying national test but no specific paper. For Spring 2026-27, applications closed on 20 October 2026 with tests or interviews planned for 16 to 21 November 2026; the Autumn 2026-27 CSE interview used the GATE CS 2026 syllabus.
PhD in the Mehta Family School of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence
PhDIIT Roorkee PhD application portal (written test and/or interview)Source: IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure Ph.D. Programme, Spring Semester 2026-27 ↗No specific GATE paper is named. For Spring 2026-27, a bachelor's in any engineering branch or a 4-year BS in Mathematics and Computing, Mathematics or Economics, among others, was eligible; selection by written test and/or interview set by the school.
Where IIT Roorkee is and which units admit DA and CS candidates
IIT Roorkee's address is Roorkee 247 667, Uttarakhand. Its PhD brochure places the town at the foothills of the Himalayas in Hardwar district, connected to Delhi by rail and road. The institute has three campuses: the main campus at Roorkee, a campus at Saharanpur, and an extension centre at Greater Noida. Students generally live on the Roorkee campus, except those in three Saharanpur departments, which include Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing.
For a GATE DA or CS candidate, three units matter most.
- The Mehta Family School of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, which runs the M.Tech in Data Science and the M.Tech in Artificial Intelligence, and admits PhD students.
- The Department of Computer Science and Engineering, with the M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering and a PhD.
- The Department of Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing at Saharanpur, whose M.Tech accepts DA and CS among other papers.
If you are coming from the south, note that the M.Tech route for GATE candidates has no test or interview in the 2026 brochure. You travel only for document verification after taking a seat.
Which GATE paper fits which M.Tech
Annexure 2 of the 2026-27 brochure lists, for each programme, "main" GATE disciplines and "other" GATE disciplines, each with its own seats by category. That split matters for DA.
| M.Tech (2026-27) | Main GATE papers | Other GATE papers |
|---|---|---|
| Data Science | DA, CS, EC, EE, MA, CE, ME, ST | AE, BM, BT, CH, MT, GE, IN, PH, PI |
| Artificial Intelligence | CS, EC, EE | DA, MA, CE, IN, ME, PH, ST, GE |
| Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing (Saharanpur) | DA, MA, ST, CS, EE, EC, XE | None |
| Computer Science and Engineering | CS | None |
For Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, the brochure prints the main block as 6 UR, 1 GEN-EWS, 4 OBC, 2 SC and 1 ST seats. The other-papers block is 2, 1, 2, 1 and 0 for Data Science and 2, 1, 1, 1 and 1 for Artificial Intelligence. So a GATE DA candidate competes for main seats in Data Science but only for the small other-papers block in Artificial Intelligence. The CSE M.Tech lists 15 UR, 4 GEN-EWS, 10 OBC, 5 SC and 3 ST seats, all for GATE CS.
Degree rules differ too. Data Science and Artificial Intelligence accept a B.E./B.Tech in any engineering discipline or a five-year integrated M.Sc. The CSE M.Tech asks for a B.E./B.Tech in CSE, Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, or Mathematics and Computing, or equivalent. A DS and AI graduate therefore meets the degree rule for CSE, but still needs a GATE CS score. A few other M.Tech programmes also list DA, including Hydrology, Computational Materials Engineering, Transportation Systems Management, Structural and Computational Biology, and Sustainable Energy Engineering.
IIT Roorkee ranks on normalised GATE marks
This is the detail that sets IIT Roorkee's process apart. The brochure says merit lists are prepared from "valid Normalized GATE marks", which IIT Roorkee calculates as your marks out of 100 divided by the maximum marks awarded in that paper that year, multiplied by 100. Its example: 64 marks where the top mark was 92 gives 69.57.
Because the normalised marks of different papers go into one merit list for a department's programmes, a DA candidate and a CS candidate applying to Data Science are compared on this scale. Your position depends on your marks relative to the top mark in your own paper that year.
Two other rules follow from the brochure. You submit one application with one GATE scorecard. If you want to use a second scorecard, say DA from 2026 and CS from 2025, you need a separate application with a fresh registration. GATE 2024, 2025 and 2026 qualifiers were all eligible to register on COAP 2026.
The 2026 application, COAP rounds and joining dates
| Step | 2026 cycle |
|---|---|
| Application portal | Opened 27 March 2026; last date extended to 21 April 2026 (11:59 p.m.) |
| Application fee | Rs. 500 (GEN/GEN-EWS/OBC-NCL), Rs. 250 (SC/ST/PwD), nil for female candidates |
| Preferences | Up to 14 programmes, which cannot be changed after submission |
| Online registration | 11 and 12 July 2026 |
| Document verification in person | 13 July (Saharanpur campus departments), 14 July (all others, Roorkee) |
| Classes | From 16 July 2026 |
IIT Roorkee was also the coordinating institute for COAP 2026, the portal all IITs used for M.Tech offers. Offers to GATE candidates appear on COAP. Upgrades to a higher preference happen automatically while seats free up, until you choose "Accept and Freeze", after which no upgrade is made. The admission page posted offer lists for ten rounds in 2026, followed by a Special Round (Round 11).
The minimum academic record is 60% or CGPA 6.00 out of 10 for General, GEN-EWS and OBC-NCL candidates and 55% or 5.50 for SC/ST/PwD candidates. Final-year students may apply if they finish every requirement, including back papers, before registration. GATE-qualified candidates admitted within the sanctioned intake receive MoE assistantship, subject to the rules.
PhD in CSE and in the Mehta Family School
PhD admission runs every semester. For the current cycle, the Spring Semester 2026-27 brochure gave these dates: applications from 21 September to 20 October 2026, tentative interviews and/or written tests from 16 to 21 November 2026, in-person registration on 7 and 8 January 2027, and classes from 11 January 2027. The fee is Rs. 500 per department, centre or school (Rs. 250 for SC/ST/PwD). The brochure says selection is "purely based on merit" and that each department tells shortlisted candidates the dates of its test or interview.
The common eligibility rules include these routes.
- A four-year bachelor's degree with CGPA 7.50 or 75%, plus a national test such as GATE.
- A master's degree with CGPA 6.0 or 60% (5.50 or 55% for SC/ST/PwD), plus a national test such as GATE.
- A B.Tech or M.Sc with CGPA 8.0 from an MoE-funded technical institution, or any IIT degree with CGPA 8.0, without GATE.
The CSE department accepts an M.E./M.Tech in IT, CSE, Software Engineering or AI and Data Science, an M.Tech in electrical or electronics, a B.E./B.Tech in CSE, IT or Mathematics and Computing, or a five-year BS-MS in Mathematics and Computing. The Mehta Family School is broader: a bachelor's degree in any engineering branch (including Data Science and AI and ML), a four-year BS in Mathematics and Computing, Mathematics or Economics, or one of several listed master's routes.
For the Autumn 2026-27 cycle, CSE's interview notice set the interview syllabus as the GATE CS 2026 syllabus, with interviews in person at the department on 1 and 2 June 2026.
Official cut-offs: what IIT Roorkee has published
IIT Roorkee's 2026 M.Tech offer lists name the candidates and programmes offered in each round, but they print no cut-off marks, and the brochure gives none either. This page therefore shows no M.Tech cut-off.
The one official figure found is for the CSE PhD. In its Autumn 2026-27 interview notice, the department said that for full-time candidates with Institute Assistantship, other than B.Tech graduates of CFTIs and B.Tech/M.Tech graduates of IITs, shortlisting was based on the recent GATE score with these cut-offs.
| Category | GATE score cut-off (CSE PhD shortlisting, Autumn 2026-27) |
|---|---|
| GEN | 452 |
| GEN-EWS/OBC-NCL | 407 |
| SC/ST | 303 |
These are shortlisting thresholds for a PhD interview, not M.Tech admission scores, and they may change each semester.
Other routes, contacts and next steps
IIT graduates with CGPA 8.00 or more can get direct M.Tech admission without GATE, on supernumerary seats, by a direct offer from IIT Roorkee. Under the Golden Girl Scheme, a female first-rank holder from an IIT or a top-50 NIRF institution in the most recent year can be admitted after an interview, without an all-India exam. M.Tech students may switch to the PhD after the first year if they meet the eligibility rules.
Contacts: pgadmission@iitr.ac.in (M.Tech; WhatsApp messages to 6395059674 during working hours) and phdadmission@iitr.ac.in (PhD).
For 2027:
- Pick the paper that keeps your preferred programmes open. DA gives you Data Science and Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing on main seats; CS adds the CSE M.Tech.
- Prepare with how to prepare for GATE DA 2027 or how to prepare for GATE CSE 2027, plus previous papers and practice tests. Exam dates are on GATE 2027.
- Order your 14 preferences with care, since they are locked once you submit.
IIT Guwahati, which also accepts GATE DA for M.Tech, is covered at IIT Guwahati.
Official GATE cut-offs at IIT Roorkee
Numbers exactly as printed in official documents (2026). Past cut-offs guide you; they don't predict next year's.
| Year | Programme | GATE | Category | Round | Cut-off | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | PhD in Computer Science and Engineering (Autumn Semester 2026-27)Shortlisting cut-off for PhD interview, based on recent GATE score, for full-time with Institute Assistantship applicants other than B.Tech from CFTIs and B.Tech/M.Tech from IITs, as printed | Not stated (recent GATE score; interview syllabus was GATE CS 2026) | GEN | – | 452 | IIT Roorkee Department of CSE, Interview for Ph.D. Admission Autumn Semester 2026-27 ↗ |
| 2026 | PhD in Computer Science and Engineering (Autumn Semester 2026-27)Shortlisting cut-off for PhD interview, based on recent GATE score, for full-time with Institute Assistantship applicants other than B.Tech from CFTIs and B.Tech/M.Tech from IITs, as printed | Not stated (recent GATE score; interview syllabus was GATE CS 2026) | GEN-EWS/OBC-NCL | – | 407 | IIT Roorkee Department of CSE, Interview for Ph.D. Admission Autumn Semester 2026-27 ↗ |
| 2026 | PhD in Computer Science and Engineering (Autumn Semester 2026-27)Shortlisting cut-off for PhD interview, based on recent GATE score, for full-time with Institute Assistantship applicants other than B.Tech from CFTIs and B.Tech/M.Tech from IITs, as printed | Not stated (recent GATE score; interview syllabus was GATE CS 2026) | SC/ST | – | 303 | IIT Roorkee Department of CSE, Interview for Ph.D. Admission Autumn Semester 2026-27 ↗ |
Frequently asked questions
Can I join IIT Roorkee's M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering with GATE DA?
Not in the 2026 cycle. The brochure lists only GATE CS for that programme. With DA you can apply to the M.Tech in Data Science and the M.Tech in Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing on main seats, and to the M.Tech in Artificial Intelligence in its smaller other-papers block.
Does IIT Roorkee use my GATE score for M.Tech merit?
No. The 2026 brochure uses normalised GATE marks: your marks out of 100 divided by the maximum marks awarded in your paper that year, times 100.
Is there a written test or interview for M.Tech at IIT Roorkee?
Not for GATE candidates in the 2026 brochure. Selection is on normalised GATE marks and your preference order, with offers through COAP. Only the Golden Girl Scheme uses an interview.
How many programmes can I apply for?
Up to 14, in order of preference, in a single application with one GATE scorecard. Choices cannot be changed after you submit.
What were the M.Tech cut-offs at IIT Roorkee?
IIT Roorkee's 2026 offer lists and brochure print no cut-off marks, so this page shows none for M.Tech. The only official figure found is the CSE PhD shortlisting cut-off for Autumn 2026-27.
When does the M.Tech application open?
In 2026 the portal opened on 27 March and the last date was extended to 21 April. Classes began on 16 July 2026. Check the admission page from March 2027.
Will I study at Roorkee or Saharanpur?
Most M.Tech students live on the Roorkee campus. Students of Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing, Paper and Packaging Technology, and Polymer and Process Engineering stay at the Saharanpur campus.
Can I do a PhD in data science at IIT Roorkee with a B.Tech?
Yes, through the Mehta Family School, if you meet the common rules: CGPA 7.50 or 75% in a four-year bachelor's degree plus a national test such as GATE, or CGPA 8.0 from an IIT or an MoE-funded technical institution without GATE.
Sources
Checked on against these official pages. Admission rules and exam cities can change, so confirm on the official site before you act.
- IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure PG Programme M.Tech./M.Arch./MURP 2026-27
- IIT Roorkee, Admission to M.Tech./M.Arch./M.U.R.P. Programmes (2026 notices and offer rounds)
- COAP 2026 portal (hosted by IIT Roorkee)
- IIT Roorkee, Information Brochure Ph.D. Programme, Spring Semester 2026-27
- IIT Roorkee Department of CSE, Interview for Ph.D. Admission Autumn Semester 2026-27